The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel: Life Lessons

To entertain myself on the leisurely three day weekend celebrating MayDay this month, I decided to stroll on down to the local cinema to watch a film I had heard much about: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.

When I got there I realised three things:

  1. I was the youngest in the cinema by a minimum of 30 years…Admittedly, this was because I’d gone to the ‘Afternoon Tea for the elderly’ viewing (you get a free hot beverage).
  2. The man in front of me had an ENORMOUS head (do our heads get bigger as we get older?).
  3. It was destined to be one of those ‘sweet’ films where you know how it will end within about half an hour of it starting.

I’m really selling it to you, right?

No, but all joking aside, there was a motto that was repeated during the film, one I found inspiring.

‘Everything will be alright in the end. So if it is not alright, then it is not yet the end.’

Set amongst the bustle and colour of passion for life in the busy streets of India, this small phrase sounded beautiful, a small oasis of calm amidst the roaring crowds.

Now I don’t know about you, but it seems to me that it’s these spring months that are the most stressful with the pressure of exams or work deadlines or getting that ‘perfect’ body for summer. It’s enough to drive anyone crazy. We are like beings possessed, storming towards our own personal goals without stopping to glance at anything on the way, leaving a path of destruction in our wake.

Human beings are famous for lack of appreciation for life; it’s one of our major flaws as a species. Watching the young owner of this Marigold Hotel weave in and out of the traffic of India, racing towards the woman he loves with complete faith that everything will work out reminded me that we all need to just CALM DOWN.

We’ll get there. We’ll achieve the goals we need to achieve. We’ll be alright.

Because if we’re not, we’re not finished yet.

3 thoughts on “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel: Life Lessons

  1. A person necessarily lend a hand to make seriously posts I might state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page and to this point?

    I surprised with the research you made to create this particular post extraordinary.
    Excellent job!

Leave a Reply

