A Toothpaste Epiphany

So I have just got back from brushing my teeth with ‘le boyfriend.’ Startlingly uninteresting, I know, but it got me thinking.

There is not one simple task we can do together without something happening. Whether it be a dance in the kitchen while I’m trying to cook; finding myself suddenly slung over his shoulder mid-washing-up; throwing socks at each other in an attempt to blackmail one of us into doing the laundry; or even, as just happened, comparing the beauty of our skulls in the bathroom mirror by pulling back our cheeks and exposing as many teeth as possible…I simply cannot complete a routine without an interruption.

In fact, I can’t remember the last time I brushed my teeth without spluttering toothpaste all over the mirror or pushing him into the bath for spitting ‘too much like a man’.

And I love that.

oddity 3Now before you quickly leave the blog in disgust at how unbearably soppy I’m being, hear me out. Humans never cease to amaze with their capacity to love – with all our flaws, there is no denying that. With so many forms of love, it doesn’t have to be of a romantic nature to lead to smiles over a shared memory, or raucous laughter as your mum tries to unsuccessfully cram a woolly bobble hat onto her head in gale force winds. Every relationship has its beauties and its strange habits that seem boggling to outsiders.

oddity 2And that is what I treasure the most about my relationships, both with my partner and with my family and friends. I have secrets and jokes and stories individually with every one of them; I am a different person in each of their eyes; and what we share is a unique jumble of Life String that is knotted up to form something untouchable.

So when you think of that one person that knows you better than anyone else in this world, give a private smile and rejoice in the oddity of what you share.

Because, no matter who you are or what you have…

‘One’s not half of two; two are halves of one.’

-E. E. Cummings

oddity 4

Leave a Reply

