Tonight I am a satsuma

satsuma

Tonight I am a shriveled satsuma, juiced until there is nothing left but exhausted pulp and seeds of tomorrow.

Tonight my eyelids droop, heavy as dark grey storm clouds rolling their thunderous rumble as they swell and swirl.

Tonight the pellets of energy littered on my plate are Mount Everest’s for my tongue and teeth.

Tonight I am a cotton bud, fluffed and primed for soothing, filled to the fibers with sleepy dust, fairy dust, dreams.

Tonight there are no sounds but your steady breath soothing my wide awake soul. Telling me I am safe. Telling me to close my eyes. Telling me to sleep.

Leave a Reply

