Shining on with an award and hairy feet.

Last week, I was stunned to wake up to a notification from WordPress, informing me I had been nominated for a Shine On award. Now, as far as I can gather, this award is a kind of a tip of the hat, a smiling acknowledgment to bloggers that you read and enjoy.

This is fantastic in my opinion! Blogging is all about community, is all about networking and the spreading of ideas and opinions. This award allows you not only to honour a fellow writer, but also paves the pathways to new friendships and blossoming branches of an ever-youthful group of aspiring people.

There are a simple set of guidelines (no pressure, obviously) for those who receive this award:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.

2. Link back to the person who nominated you.

3. State 7 things about yourself.

4. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award and link to them.

So here goes nothing! 

shine on award

First of all, I would like to say a huge Thank You to belsbror, the blogger who nominated me. It’s is only recently that I began to read your blog but I have enjoyed every entry so far. Your words are beautiful and inspiring and one hundred percent YOU, which is not always the easiest thing to produce on a page. I look forward to reading future blogs and hope that people find their way to your page from here – it is worth the visit!

As for seven things about myself…it’s difficult to know where to start. These sort of things remind me of those awkward situations at the start of a new school year or a group workshop; I never know what to say. Where to start with ‘you’?

me1. I guess the first stop should be my name. Officially, it is ‘Elanor’, though I prefer to be known as ‘Ellie.’ My dad chose my name. As a fan of Lord of the Rings, I am (semi) proud to inform the world that I am named after a Sun Star, a flower in Middle Earth. It is also the name given to Samwise Gamgee’s first daughter. So you could argue I am named after a Hobbit. I still maintain that that is cool.

2. Writing has been a passion of mine since childhood. I would write short stories and cover them in illegible scrawls from a young age and wrap them up to give to relatives as presents. My nan has kept every one of them, including a tiny scrap of paper with my signature on it: ‘For when you get famous, dear.’ 

3. Before coming to university to pursue writing as a career, I was a professionally trained classical singer. I took a course during one summer, which enabled me to be in two operas: Tosca and Otello, learned, rehearsed and performed in the space of two weeks. It was one of the most exhausting and thrilling things I have ever done.

4. I will never be able to forgive my mother for the day I found my first beloved guinea pig dead in the wheelie bin at the tender age of seven years old. Saying that, she is my best friend and I love her dearly. My Mum, that is. Not the guinea pig.

5. My baby brother is the coolest person I know. We like to make weather wheels and the occasional cardboard tardis together.

6. I love dresses. They make me feel like a girl. Until they are blown up around my face by the wind. Then they make me feel embarrassed.

7. I have been in love with my man since I was fifteen years old. That’s nearly six years of loving. I plan to love him for many many many more years.

So that’s me out of the way. Well, the little parts I can fit into seven points.

Now for you guys.

Crazy Kitty Love – all of your posts make me smile

tonnia994 – you are my friend and my support in all our creative writing and you deserve more recognition

J. E. Latimer – for all of your support from the beginning

Paul F. Lenzi – for your beautiful poetry

racheliza94 – your words are so true

Jane cowen – for making a journal / creative archive that draws me back

Liz – all of your recipes are so delicious!

Idaffin – because I can’t get Fishing with Mr. Patience out of my head!

Christian Mihai – wise words from a wise writer

Laura Lynn – you are an inspiration and the raw realness of your writing is incredible

Thoughts of a Lunatic – beautiful writing in every post, with probing questions and sometimes frightening possibilities

Coco J. Ginger – simple honest brilliance in every blog entry

createdavidt – I love your poetry

The Dimwit Diary – proof that no matter how bad, there’s always a smile to be found. If not today, then maybe tomorrow

theprologuer – a journal littered with personal truths and a love of writing

* * *

Phew! Well that’s me done for tonight! I just want to say thank you again to all of you. Send out your blog love from here. And we could all become The Fellowship of the Blogs.

…My life has too much Lord of the Rings in it.

9 thoughts on “Shining on with an award and hairy feet.

  1. Congrats on the award & thank you very much for passing this along! Oh, and you are welcome, of course- No problem! Keep up the great work & enjoy the day over there- Take care! 🙂

  2. eek thanks!! I guess this means I need to kick my butt into gear with more frequent blogging to make it justified now 😛 haha thank you dear, when I have a spare 5 mins I will pass this on! 😀

Leave a Reply

