Builders, Morning Treks, and Upcoming Photos of Wind Swept Hair

Hey ‘Podders!

It has been a while since I’ve shared with you my NYPG (New York Plan of Greatness) experience, for which I have no real excuse.

Well, ok, I have one. I do now have a full time job that is slowly sapping all the life energy from my veins and making it difficult to do anything other than work and sleep…but I’ve been told you get used to it. In time.

Wish time would hurry up and get on with it in this case.

I’m missing blogging so much! It’s not been until these past few days that I’ve had a chance to actually sit down and type to you all. I have a short break away from work so as to move out of my uni house and spend a few days at the British coast somewhere, and have found myself drawn to the computer at every spare second I have, reading blogs, catching up with my regular readers, drafting ideas. In fact, I have so many ideas I want to share with you all that I keep forgetting them – they slip right out of my brain the moment I try to recall them, like soap through slimy fingers.

So, thousands of fantastical ideas or not, I thought that for today at least I should stick to schedule and do my NYPG themed Monday. Fantastical may come in short bursts over the next few days. Maybe. I make no promises. I am a girl headed for a very rain soaked, wind swept, British beach holiday.

Source: DailyMail

Source: DailyMail

* * *

Last time I wrote to you all, it was mainly about my belly. And it’s total lack of shrinking. I talked to you about stamina and have mentioned in previous posts how important motivation is (hence the name of the plan – the word ‘diet’ is forbidden here).

Today though, I want to talk to you all about activity.

EURGH. I know. But bear with me.

I am a girl who loves to get up and shake her booty in a zumba class. I love to go swimming, or at least sit peacefully in water and poke my tongue out at annoying children when their parents aren’t looking. I love cycling, as long as it’s not up any hills. I love all of this, but if I had the choice, I would rather stay inside with a good movie and snuggle up with my man.

Not the best quality in a gal who’s trying to shift some tummy.

However, since starting my new job, I’ve combined the two most perfect traits of laziness and exercise. As oxymoron-ish as that sounds, it is possible.

I work about 3 miles away from where I live, and for the first few days of working there, I did get a bus. It didn’t take long for me to realise the foolishness of this plan. The bus got me in nearly an hour early for my shift. It cost me £3.10 every day. That’s an average of £15.50 a WEEK on travel and I’m not exactly earning a massive wage.

So, one morning, I walked. It was a long walk, took me nearly an hour, but it wasn’t impossible. I saved money that day and enjoyed the cool morning air, and waved at some jolly builders. The walk put a smile on my face. I felt so gooooood.

That first day of walking, I still got in early. I had over estimated how long it would take me. Day Two of walking, however, I had calculated that by walking in, I could spend an extra 45 minutes asleep in the blissful comfort of my bed.

Sold. No more buses for me if it means an extra bit of sleep. That’s just common sense, isn’t it?

After two weeks of walking 3 miles every morning, I’ve noticed changes. Le man works in the same place as me and he’s lost 3 pounds. We simply don’t have the time to eat when we’re working 9-6pm every day.

And simply noticing changes is starting to physically make changes to me, too.

I’m wearing nicer clothes, parading around in a nice bra with no qualms, I’m more chatty and bubbly with my family even after a long day. It doesn’t sound like much, but aren’t all of these the things we’re really truly searching for when we’re trying to improve ourselves? Aren’t we really just looking for that bit of confidence and self acceptance?

Right now I can’t tell you how many pounds I’ve lost, if any at all. But I can tell you something else just as concrete.

I’ve lost a bit of that tummy shame. I’m embracing my reflection. I’m a tiny bit more me.

Which if you ask me, is worth more than a number on some weighing scales.

*Cue the music* : 'Lady in red...'

*Cue the music* :
‘Lady in red…’

Leave a Reply

